Social Sciences



The dictatorship is a government regime whose representative controls all powers. In a dictatorial government, all types of opposition are blocked and authoritarianism is exercised over all areas of public and private administration.

In some territories, power does not only fall on only one person, this type of government can be developed by a party where few representatives decide, control and exert force over public institutions and other political parties.

For dictatorial governments, their own laws are above the constitution of their country, and they constantly create new norms in order to perpetuate themselves in power and control the masses.

Characteristics of dictatorships

In dictatorships there are similar characteristics, regardless of the country or culture where they are carried out, however, some States will have their particularities according to their objectives.

In general terms, we can say that dictatorships:

  • They violate human rights.
  • They are populist governments and demagogues.
  • Normally the political current they exercise is communism.
  • Imports and exports dominate.
  • They regulate most industries so that the State is the largest producer and importer of products.
  • They use fear or basic needs to control citizens.
  • They are likely to cause economic and / or social crises.

Types of dictatorships

There are seven types of dictatorships based on the way of exercising power and responding to attacks from the international community or from a group opposed to your government that decides to stand up. Those guys are:

Military dictatorship

They manage to come to power after the execution of coups . It is a group of soldiers who apply force to cause a power vacuum (overthrow the previous government) and thus lead the State by imposing its rules. Among them they choose who will be the new president and ministers, almost always occupying the first place the head of the Armed Forces.


It is a system that seeks to dominate all aspects of society, such as its culture, education, economy and others, through a well-established political concept . People have few possibilities to choose how they will develop their lives since the State imposes education systems, income modalities, means of communication, etc.

It is common for there to be abuse of power in this type of government, but there are not many organizations that can stop such actions since most are in charge of the State itself, such as the ombudsman and judicial powers.


This type of dictatorial regimes differs from totalitarianism in that it lacks a plan that has limits and ways of developing its policies. However, the constant dominance of society is also the main reason for this form of government. Authoritarian governments have rules for all forms of life in a country: education, telecommunications, economy, etc.

Constitutional dictatorship

It has the constitution of the country to control the people and opposition parties. The dictator will promote the creation or modification of the constitution so that it prevents his government from being vulnerable. They may promote compliance with laws, but they will not always be laws that allow the nation to progress.


It is one of the oldest forms of dictatorships. His mandates are based on religious ideologies that place the interests of a deity above all else. Religion and the state go hand in hand in all areas.


They are dictatorships whose representative is the king or queen. In this form of government, the monarch is the only one who decides and controls; it is not limited to ceremonial responsibilities as in the British monarchy, for example, whose political decisions rest with the prime minister and his cabinet.

Smart person

They are dictatorships that, although the dictator belongs to the armed forces or leaders of political parties, but such institutions will not have dominion over him or the country they govern. These people are the protagonists in every sense of the policies carried out.

Examples of dictatorships

Next, you will see examples of governments whose official system is dictatorship. Democratic governments that exercise certain policies aimed at some type of dictatorship, such as totalitarianism exercised in the government of Hugo Chávez in Venezuela or by Danilo Ortega in Nicaragua, will not be taken into account.

  • Dictatorship of Fidel Castro in Cuba from 1959 to the present. Today it is led by Miguel Díaz-Canel.
  • Alyaksandr Lukashenko dictatorship in Belarus from 1994 to the present.
  • Salva Kiir in South Sudan since 2011.
  • Xi Jinping in China since 2012.
  • Burma with Win Myint since 2018.
  • North Korea with Kin Jong-un since 2011.
  • Bashar al-Assad in Syria since 2000.
  • Dictatorship of Fayez al-Sarraj in Libya since 2016.
  • Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed in Somalia since 2017.
  • Paul Kagame in Rwanda since 2000.
  • Mswati III in Eswatini (Swaziland) since 1986.
  • Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi in Yemen since 2012.
  • Saudi Arabia with Salman bin Abdulaziz al Saud since 2015.
  • Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahayan in the United Arab Emirates since 2004.
  • Ali Khamenei in Iran since 1989.
  • Bounnhang Vorachith in Laos since 2016.
  • Nguyễn Phú Trọng in Vietnam since 2018.
  • Nepal with Bidhya Devi Bhandari since 2015.
  • Pakistan with Arif Alvi since 2018.
  • Haitham bin Tariq in Oman since 2020.
  • Prayut Chan-o-cha in Thailand since 2014.
  • Shavkat Mirziyoyev Uzbekistan since 2016.
  • Kassym-Jomart Tokayev in Kazakhstan 2019.
  • Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedow in Turmkenistan since 2007.
  • Emomali Rahmon in Tajikistan since 1992.
  • Abdelfatah al-Sisi in Egypt since 2014.
  • Mohamed Ould Ghazouani in Mauritania since 2019.
  • Isaias Afwerki in Eritrea since 1993.
  • Idriss Déby in Chad since 1990.
  • Teodoro Obiang Nguema in Equatorial Guinea since 1979.
  • Hamad bin Isa al Khalifa in Bahrain since 1999.
  • Dictatorship of Robert Mugabe Zimbabwe from 1987 to 2017.
  • Pierre Nkurunziza in Burundi since 2005.
  • Tamin ben Hamad al Thani in Qatar since 2013.
  • Ilham Aliyev in Azerbaijan since 2003.
  • Hun Sen in Cambodia since 1985.
  • Denis Sassou Nguesso in the Republic of Congo since 2002.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also