Characteristics of Human Development

Human development

When we speak of development, we refer to the evolutionary process of man’s growth , including from his birth to his death.

Development is divided into several stages and processes characteristic of each one. In this space we will give you the information you need to know the essential characteristics of human development.

Characteristics of Human Development

    1. Prenatal stage:

It is the first phase in the development of the human being. It is about the moment of conception and growth in the womb, better known as the intrauterine phase.

This stage runs from fertilization to delivery .

This stage in turn has three sub-stages:

  1. Zygote period, where the fertilization process of the ovum takes place until the formation of the egg or zygote.
  2. The embryonic period elapses 6 weeks after the first period where the embryo becomes sectioned and gives indications of what the body system and its different devices will be like.
  3. And finally, the fetal period, where the embryo is finally structured and defined until the moment of delivery.
  4. Childhood Stage:

It is about the process of growth of the being, from its exit from the mother’s womb until approximately 6 or 7 years.

During the motor and physical development , in its beginnings, the baby has little weight and size, compared to a young person or adult, but they are characteristic of this stage.

In this process the first reflexes develop, suckling of the mother’s breast begins, reaction to sounds, among other things.

After the motor and physical process, comes the cognitive process  where language and interaction with the environment develop .

Finally , in this stage the infant creates affective bonds, the pleasure and desire to socialize with the environment arises.

  1. Childhood Stage:

It is a stage after childhood and before adolescence.

During the 6 and 12 years , the infant begins the interaction with the new environment called school where his cognitive, social and affective process grows .

  1. Stage of Adolescence:

This stage includes growth between 12 and 20 years .

During this period, they stop being a child, although they are not mature enough to be an adult.

The physical change is visible and noticeable in terms of height and weight.

During this period, the sexual glands develop , generating hormonal changes characteristic of this stage of development in the individual.

  1. Youth Stage:

During this stage of development, the individual feels more serene . After the whirlwind of emotions and sensations left by adolescence, youth becomes calmer.

In this process, despite not having reached adulthood yet, the young person is closer to internal development and growth.

In short, the individual at this stage is more focused and mature, capable of seeing the reality of things as they are.

  1. Adult Stage:

During this period, which is between 25 and 60 years of age , the person reaches his full biological and mental development.

Already in this process, the individual is more serene and calm, allowing him to face life with greater performance in the activities that are presented to him.

  1. Stage of Aging:

It is the last stage of human development . It begins to pass after 60 years of age.

This stage of life is defined by the behavior and lifestyle that the person had in the previous stages.

The decrease in physical strength is notable, causing poor performance in both physical and mental activities.

Old age for some is a victory over life, since not many can have the privilege of reaching that stage. For others, it is synonymous with sedentary lifestyle and routine.

The vision of this stage will depend to a great extent on the form and lifestyle as well as the internal and spiritual growth that the individual may have.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also